Hands Free Calling in California

A California law that goes into effect in July 2008 will make it illegal for drivers to use hand-held wireless phones while driving. Speaker phones and hands-free headsets will be allowed. The fine for first-time offenders will be $20; thereafter, $50. However, the research shows you are four times more likely to have a crash while talking on a cellphone. That applies equally to hand-held phones and hands-free phones. Children and other passengers are among the most difficult distractions for drivers in my opinion. Nobody wants to ban children from the car.

Popular Articles